#aboutlife

Have you ever been asked about who you want to be in the future? I want to be a singer. A teacher. A firewoman. A vet. Maybe a firewoman and a vet? It’s so difficult question, isn’t it? Well, the truth is that I have no idea of how my future will look like. Another query is when does the future start? What if I am living my future right now? The thing is so complicated that I can’t think up a simple and univocal answer for it.

What I know for sure is that we grow up. Our characters change. We become mature. The time just goes so fast. The social media keeps creating a perfect image of people who succeed in the business and social life, people who use the newest smartphones and buy the most expensive cars. And I’m not saying that I wouldn’t like to have a nice car, though. I’m just thinking that I don’t want to be blinded with the future and I don’t want to satisfy the expectations of the society. I just try to appreciate every little moment and opportunity that life gives me. I have wonderful friends and family, I love travelling, learning Spanish, listening to rock music. Where do I see myself in ten years? I have no idea, but I know that I want to be as happy as I am right now.

To introduce a bit of realism in my way of thinking, I want to graduate from school, because I love my course. Maybe I’ll work as an interpreter later, maybe I’ll end up in the office filling in some documents in Spanish and making calls to the clients. Maybe I’ll simply go abroad to enjoy the international environment and I’ll take on the first job that occure to me. I’m totally aware of the importance of work and studies but, at the same time, when I’ll be retired, I want to sit on the couch and, with a big smile on my face, remember all the good things that happened to me. Because life flies by and I don’t want to let my phone or work make me miss it.

Bringing the question to a conclusion, I’d like to remind you that we’re all different and what counts the most is living in line with our needs. If you want to be a doctor, go for it! We need a lot of competent doctors nowadays. Nevertheless, if you want to buy a house in the countryside and be woken up by the cockcrow every morning, go for it as well! Don’t let people tell you what to do and never believe that you’re not able to do something. If you’re really dreaming about something, don’t wait and start to realise your goals! And, last but not least, while planning the FUTURE, don’t forget about the NOW.

4 thoughts on “#aboutlife”

  1. You’re absolutely right. Nowadays, most people focus on satisfying the expectation of the society… forgetting about what really makes us happy. Great post, Ania! I’m waiting for more 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes it’s hard to enjoy the little things when there’s so much going on in life but your post is perfect reminder that it’s good to slow down, appreciate what we have now and think about what we truly want because all we have is one life and it’s our choice how we’re gonna live it. Such a positive post, Ania!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment